Groups of ICC Champions Trophy 2025
ICC Champions Trophy 2025 (Source: Twitter)

Groups of ICC Champions Trophy 2025

8 qualifying teams will compete in the ICC 2025 Champions Trophy. India and Pakistan are placed in Group A.

Originally named as the ICC Knockout, it took place in Dhaka, Bangladesh in 1998 and Nairobi, Kenya in 2000. In 2002, the tournament was renamed the ICC Champions Trophy, and it was held every two years until 2009.

The event is now held every four years and comprises the top eight teams in the ICC one-day rankings -

  • India
  • Pakistan 
  • Bangladesh
  • New Zealand
  • Australia
  • South Africa 
  • England
  • Afghanistan

Eight teams will compete in the ICC Champions Trophy 2025. These are the top-ranked men's national teams in One Day International (ODI), including Pakistan, the host country. 

The classifications at the end of the ICC ODI World Cup group stage decided who advanced to the tournament. 

ICC Champions Trophy 2025

The ICC Champions Trophy 2025 will be the tournament's 9th edition, with a format identical to the one used in 2017. The competition will include eight teams that qualify based on their positions in the 2023 Cricket World Cup group stage.

Pakistan will host the event in February and March 2025, with matches played at a variety of sites, including a new and advanced cricket stadium in Islamabad.

There might be a change in the venue, considering the security threats to the Indian cricket team playing in Pakistan.

The eight teams will be divided into two groups of four teams.

Group A has India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and New Zealand.

Whereas Group B includes Australia, South Africa, England, and Afghanistan.

During the group stage, each team will play the other teams in their group in a single round-robin style. The top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals. The semi-finals will determine which players will battle for the championship in the grand finale.

Share this post

ScoreWaves © 2024 Copyright. All Rights Reserved.