Uganda Squad for ICC Men’s T20I World Cup
Uganda Squad for T20 World Cup (Source: Twitter)

Uganda Squad for ICC Men’s T20I World Cup

It is for the first time that Uganda is appearing in the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup. The squad is ready!

Uganda has announced its first-ever squad for the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup. Uganda is placed with the West Indies, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and Papua New Guinea in Group C.

Brian Masaba is responsible for leading the team. Riazat Ali Shah stood in for Masaba for the captaincy.

Here's the complete Uganda squad for T20 World Cup- Brian Masaba (c), Simon Ssesazi, Roger Mukasa, Cosmas Kyewuta, Dinesh Nakrani, Fred Achelam, Kenneth Waiswa, Alpesh Ramjani, Frank Nsubuga, Henry Ssenyondo, Bilal Hassun, Robinson Obuya, Riazat Ali Shah (vc), Juma Miyagi, Ronak Patel.

Reserves - Innocent Mwebaze, Ronald Lutaaya

The Uganda squad for the T20 World Cup includes the most experienced one - Frank Nsubuga. The 43-year-old represented his country at the age of 17 in the ICC Trophy, in 1997.

His experience is not the only reason he is considered the most eminent, but his exceptional fielding skills add more weight. His thrilling catch in the Cricket World Cup Challenge League match against Kenya in 2022 is one such example.

Another Ugandan player to watch out for, is the spinner all-rounder, Alpesh Ramjani. He has been maintaining a consistent form. His consistency enabled him to get nominated for the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year, in 2023.

Ramjani also holds the record for taking most T20I wickets in 2023, a total of 55. Another capable all-rounder in the squad is Henry Ssenyondo, who took 49 wickets in the same year.

Uganda will play its first contest against Afghanistan on 4th June at the Providence Stadium.

Also Read: South Africa’s Squad for ICC Men’s T20I World Cup 2024

Share this post

ScoreWaves © 2024 Copyright. All Rights Reserved.