Sri Lanka’s Squad for ICC Men’s T20I World Cup 2024
Sri Lanka Squad for ICC Men's T20I World Cup 2024

Sri Lanka’s Squad for ICC Men’s T20I World Cup 2024

Sri Lanka is ready with their squad for the ICC Men’s T20I World Cup under the captaincy of Wanindu Hasaranga.

Let’s have a detailed look at the Sri Lanka squad for ICC Men’s T20I World Cup 2024, starting from 2nd June 2024. The United States of America and the West Indies are hosting the upcoming ICC event. It is the first time; the US is hosting any ICC contest.

Sri Lanka is one of the eminent teams at the Global level. Sri Lanka, ICC No.8 team is going to compete with other prominent teams, Sri Lanka is ready with their 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup.

Here’s the complete Sri Lanka squad for the T20 World Cup-

Wanindu Hasaranga (c), Charith Asalanka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, and Dilshan Madushanka.

Reserves - Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, and Janith Liyanage.

For the tournament, Wanindu Hasaranga is leading the team. Hasaranga was named as the Sri Lanka T20I Captain in December last year. The all-rounder, Wanindu has a strong hand in bowling when it comes to international T20 cricket. 

Wanindu is the ICC No.2 T20 bowler with a 15.56 average rate and 104 wickets in account. The team is likely to perform better under Wanindu’s captaincy.

Angelo’s Comeback

It is not just the Wanindu who is a shoulder to lean on for the Sri Lanka squad for the T20 World Cup. The team is banking upon the experienced player, Angelo Mathews who made a comeback this year in the T20I cricket after 3 years.

Angelo has been part of Sri Lanka’s winning 11 in 2014. He is making his 6th World Cup appearance. Let’s see if Angelo's experience can help the team to emerge victorious in the ICC World Cup 2024.

A Team Full of Captains

It is quite certain that Sri Lanka is not lacking when it comes to onboarding experienced players. This squad is not just any other squad, this team has captains of all formats.

  • Former captain - Dasun Shanaka 
  • Current ODI captain - Kusal Mendis
  • Current Test captain - Dhananjaya de Silva 

Plenty of All-Rounders

Along with leadership experience, the authorities also added some all-rounders to achieve the perfect balance. The captain, Wanindu Hasaranga is the one spin-bowling all-rounder along with Dunith Wellalage, Dhananjaya de Silva, and Kamindu Mendis.

Mathews and Shanaka are promising pace-bowling all-rounders in the squad.

Bullet Bowlers

Cricket lovers won’t be deprived of the Lasith Malinga-like bowling action as Matheesha Pathirana and Nuwan Thushara are an eminent part of the squad. These pace bowlers will bring more diversification to the squad.

Sri Lanka is placed in Group D along with South Africa, Bangladesh, Netherlands and Nepal. The team is playing their first match against South Africa on 3rd June at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium.

Share this post

ScoreWaves © 2024 Copyright. All Rights Reserved.